European Capitals of CultureΠοιειν Και Πραττειν - create and do

Italy 2019



There were competing altogether 21 Italian cities for the title, five of which were placed on the short list after the jury came to a decision in October 2013. These five cities are Ravenna, Siena, Lecce, Perugia, Matera and Cagliari.

Matera 2019 was finally chosen in October 2014.


The 4 finalist Italian cities for European Capital of Culture 2019 will share their experience in leading participatory processes aimed at reshaping the way culture as a catalyst for local tranformation during the debate "The City, it's us", organized by Culture Action Europe in Brussels, 10 December 2014.

^ Top

« Selection of cities until 2019 | How to become ECoC - Italy 2019 »