European Capitals of CultureΠοιειν Και Πραττειν - create and do

Candidate Cities in Holland for 2018

Selection Procedure in two stages: 2012 and 2013

A jury was appointed for European Capital of Culture 2018 in Holland by Secretary of State Zijlstra (Education, Culture and Science). He appointed the following Dutch jury members who are to advise on the designation of the European Capital of Culture 2018: Christine de Baan, Margot Gerené, Dingeman Kuilman, Nynke Stellingsma, Janneke van der Wijk and Rutger Wolfson.

Seven members have also been appointed by European institutions (the European Parliament, Council of Ministers, European Commission and the Committee of the Regions): Constantin Chiriac (Romania), Manfred Gaulhofer (Austria), Steve Green (UK), Erna Hennicot-Schoepges (Luxemburg), Sir Jeremy Isaacs (UK), Jordi Pardo Rodriguez (Spain) and Elisabeth Vitouch (Austria).

In the autumn of 2012, the jury pre-selected the candidate cities, and in the autumn of 2013 was then Leeuwarden was recommend as the one city to have the title to the Secretary of State.

Leeuwarden 2018

In May 2014, the EU Ministers of Culture (the EYC-Council) will designate the European Capital of Culture.

Candidate cities

There were 5 candidates in the initial round: The Hague, Eindhoven, Leeuwarden, Maastricht and Utrecht.

In the final round there were the following three cities: Eindhoven, Leeuwarden and Maastricht

SICA provided the logistical support for the selection process. For more information please contact Robert Kieft.

While everyone was surprised that Utrecht did not make it into the short list, the final selection designated the title to Leeuwarden and therefore surprised especially the people of Eindhoven. 

Candidates must fulfil three main criteria: integrating a true European dimension, reinforcing cooperation among EU countries with the support of the public and highlighting the role of the city in the formation and development of culture in Europe.

Successful candidates must also devise a programme with a lasting impact that contributes to the long-term cultural, economic and social development of the city concerned.

Leeuwarden will realize its programme parallel to Valletta in Malta as the two European Capitals of Culture for 2018.

Press release of EU

For EU Press Release after the Jury met in Amsterdam, Nov. 30, 2012, see

Eindhoven 2018
consists of five cities: Eindhoven, Hertogenbosch, Tilburg, Helmond and Breda
There bid includes already an ongoing research to monitor the impact by Greg Richards from Tilburg University (see pages 112 - 113)

^ Top

« Plovdiv selected in 2014 | Selection process in Denmark and Cyprus for 2017 »